top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeshea Lloyd Branding

5 lessons I wish I knew at the beginning of my Corporate career.

"Do not cry! Do not cry!" I was sitting in my office after my boss told me I wasn't selected for a promotion I really wanted. It was the second time I was overlooked for an opportunity and I was just about ready to quit!




It was only after my boss gave me some much needed feedback during a Performance Appraisal that I started to understand why these promotions weren't coming my way. "More substance," those words rang in my ears after our conversation. He had mentioned that other managers mentioned that lunch room conversations would give the impression that all I cared about was shopping and clothes. Imagine that?!? They based their decisions on conversations I was having during lunch!! So what about all the hours I spent away from my family working to ensure everything went smoothly for my brand executions....or what about the balancing act with school and work while I was pursuing my Masters degree!?!?


With more experience perhaps years later I started to accept this feedback in a more positive way. I realized that it would take much more than hard work to open myself up to more career opportunities. I needed to find ways to move away from the "party girl" image in order to be taken more seriously in the board room. It was a challenge because I spent most of my time in events because of work. It was only after I entered a more executive role in another organization that this transition became smoother.


Based on my more than a decade long tenure in the corporate world here's what I wish someone told me at the beginning of my Corporate Career that I think I need to share with you today:


1) Work with a mentor consistently -

Some organizations provide you with a mentor (which mine did actually). Whether one is provided or not find one and schedule meetings with your mentor at least once a month. Meetings can be online or a simple face to face coffee date but be consistent and ensure you set objectives and outcomes for each meeting. Working with a mentor allows you the opportunity to learn from someone who has the experience to help you navigate the industry and achieve your career goals.


2) Surround yourself with positive peers -

While gossip and small talk can be entertaining and helps alleviate the stress of a fast-paced work environment, surrounding yourself with disgruntled and negative chatter about your company on a daily basis will only affect you negatively. Surrounding yourself with the right network of colleagues on and higher than your level in the organization allows you opportunities to learn from these persons and positively affects how you are perceived by others. Noone is saying you have to be a brown noser (I know that's what you're thinking) but opening yourself to chatting with other heads of departments and having meaningful conversations with them are great opportunities to demonstrate your level of maturity.


3) Ask for feedback from not only your bosses, but your peers and other key players in the organization -

I know this can be intimidating. Ask your HR department about 360 degree evaluation platforms which allow persons to give feedback anonymously. When it comes to your line manager you should ask for feedback after every project or at least once a month. Don't feel like you need to wait until your Performance Appraisal at the end of the year. Ok I know some of you may be thinking that you do that and you get great feedback but you're still not getting that promotion. Here's the harsh reality that they won't tell you....They may be thinking that you simply aren't mature enough to deal with the real feedback they want to give to you. Which leads us to the next point..........


4) Be self-aware and accept feedback positively -

It is never easy hearing not-so-positive comments about yourself. Try not to take it personally and do some introspection before you get emotional. Very often managers are looking at your reaction to that feedback to make important decisions about your career opportunities. A mature and positive approach to feedback demonstrates important leadership skills. Taking that feedback and using it to close identified gaps is a sure way to be accountable for your actions and show others that you can move forward from it positively.


5) Think of yourself as a brand -

Very often we are so focused on the goals of your company that we forget to set our own personal goals. See yourself as a brand....set a vision, mission and goals for you to achieve, not only for your career but other aspects of your life. If your current role is not aligned to the goals you have set for yourself then a change is needed. If you see yourself becoming so disgruntled or demotivated that it is affecting your mental health on a daily basis then you may need to look at making a move outside of the organization to a role that is more suitable for you.


Here's the key takeaway with my story and these lessons:

If you want to progress in your career you need to start showing up in the right places so others see your experience and consider you for opportunities. There are so many huuuuge opportunities you are losing out on because you are so focused on where you are that you don't see where you could be.




If you found these points helpful make sure to join our mailing list before you leave the site and look out for the next blog where I share with you Easy ways for you to show up for those BIG opportunities!


Comments


bottom of page